RATEP - Community based Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Teacher Education Program

The RATEP program helps increase the number of registered Indigenous teachers and paraprofessionals in Queensland by offering programs in the home communities of the student teachers.

Previously operating only in remote areas, RATEP now reflects a broad community base, including Indigenous communities in urban and rural areas in Queensland as well as remote areas.

RATEP centres are based at 14 school communities in Queensland, where teacher coordinators support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander student teachers to become autonomous learners as they complete teaching qualifications.

More than 120 students at these centres are currently enrolled in TAFE Queensland North (TQN) Certificate III, Certificate IV and Diploma courses, and more than 40 are enrolled in the Bachelor of Education course at James Cook University (JCU).

Course information

RATEP offers four courses through the TAFE Queensland North (TQN) and James Cook University (JCU). Course candidate selection is based on criteria related to personal and academic suitability.

In 2018, a pilot program was introduced offering Early Childhood Education and Care courses through RATEP to students in selected locations - Aurukun, Northern Peninsula Area (Bamaga), Barambah Area (Cherbourg), Palm Island, St George, Woorabinda and Yarrabah. It is anticipated that this program will expand across the state. 

TAFE Queensland North (TQN)

TQN offers Certificates III and IV in Education – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander, and a Diploma of Education – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander.

Certificate III is usually a six-month course offered over two years to Year 11 and 12 students at high schools where RATEP centres operate (e.g. Maryborough SHS and Spinifex Senior College, Mt Isa).

Round 2 applications close 15 February. Read the information sheet (PDF, 90KB) and further course information (PDF, 454KB).

Certificate IV is usually a six-month course but is offered over nine months to teacher aides as an on-the-job training program.

Under the RATEP partnership, the Diploma of Education is equal to first year of the James Cook University Bachelor of Education and is offered to successful applicants who complete an assessment. Find out more about the TQN RATEP courses.

James Cook University (JCU)

JCU offers a Bachelor of Education, which is an additional three years of study. You can enrol if you have completed the Diploma in Education through TQN or have equivalent accreditation from JCU for previous study. Find out more about the JCU RATEP courses.

A Bachelor of Education (ECEC) through RATEP has been offered to students in selected centres in 2018. ​​​​

RATEP profiles

​Over the last 25 years RATEP have produced many success stories.

 Justin Washington


 Related information


RATEP is a joint partnership between:

  • Department of Education
  • TAFE Queensland North (TQN)

James Cook University (JCU) in partnership with Indigenous community representatives:

  • Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education and Training Advisory Committee (QATSIETAC).
  • Torres Strait Islanders' Regional Education Council (TSIREC).
  • RATEP offers the following courses:

    • Certificate III in Education - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (Year 11 and 12)
    • Certiicate III in Early Childhood Education and Care (ECEC) - selected locations
    • Certificate IV in Education - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
    • Diploma of Education
    • Diploma of ECEC - selected locations
    • Bachelor of Education (Primary)
    • Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood ) - selected locations
Last updated
28 March 2019